Laying low

Last week I learned that I had some significant challenges ahead of me at work. I’m apparently not on the “favorites” list of the new head of our unit, and it was hinted that I was lucky not to have been let go already.

Wow.

I spent the weekend in my den (house) licking my wounds and trying to recover. This is a big blow to me at a time when I’m already feeling very vulnerable.

In the past year, I’ve had major health challenges: multiple bouts of diverticulitis, hormonally induced fatigue and brain fog, incurable eye disease that impacts vision in one eye, and a cancer scare that resulted in major surgery. And I’m not done on the health front yet because I’ll be having another abdominal surgery in one month. (Which will hopefully eliminate the diverticulitis for good.)

My work/career hasn’t been getting enough attention from me in the past year. I know that and have had every intention of addressing the lack once I’m through the upcoming surgery. Apparently it’s not so much my actual performance that is the issue, though, as it is my lack of political savvy in the new business unit to which I was transferred last year as part of an internal reorganization.

I’m motivated to fix the situation, since I really like my company overall and it has been good to me. Not to mention I just bought a house and need a certain income level to make the payments. (Gulp!)

This state of affairs really blows away my financial reckoning in other ways, though. With this information in hand, I highly doubt I’ll see much of a raise or bonus. I’ll find out for sure at the end of next week.

Considering all the extra things I’ve had to pay for since moving into the house, not getting a decent bonus will be a blow to my budget. I was hoping that the bonus would cover most of my property tax bill this year.

Well, it’s a good thing I’m interviewing a potential housemate tonight. *sigh*

2 thoughts on “Laying low

  1. This rung so true with me. I’ve had a multitude of health issues this year that have affected my productivity at work and I found out recently that I wouldn’t get any compensation increases this year because of it. It really upsets me if I think about it too much, especially when I feel like I did all I could at work despite the setbacks personally.

    I hope things turn around for you at work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

