Most recent lesson

After today, I think I’m giving up on the surface transportation to San Francisco International Airport. I left my house at 5:30 AM to get to the transportation terminal where I caught a privately operated bus that runs from Napa to SFO.

As soon as I got on the bus, I knew I was doomed. The driver announced that the trip would take extra long since there was an accident near the Bay Bridge. As we creeped along I-80 through the East Bay, we ran into another accident and further delays. Much later, when we passed a sign saying it was 9 minutes to SFO and I knew my flight was finished boarding in 10 minutes I conceded defeat and called the corporate travel service.

I ended up on a completely different airline on a flight that left 5 hours later and got me to my destination (Atlanta) at 10 PM local time. I missed the welcome reception for my business meeting, but I made it for the real meetings that start tomorrow, at least.

I truly hope that I don’t get into problems when I submit my expenses because today’s travel fiasco cost an extra $700 in change fees and for a one-way ticket on a nearly full flight.

At least SFO is a great airport to hang out in. There is free wifi, lots of great places to eat and drink, and they even have a yoga room. (No, I didn’t use it since I was wearing business attire.) Everyone I encountered was very nice and even the 4+ hour flight in a middle seat wasn’t as painful as I thought it would be.

This isn’t the first time I’ve had problems getting to the airport on time on the bus. It seems I’m always a fender bender away from missing my flight, and feeling very stressed about it. Next time I fly out of SFO, I’m going to try driving only part way to the BART station and then getting on the train. At least I would avoid the really heavy traffic areas that start near Pinole and continue into San Francisco.

Now to go sink into my (hopefully) comfy bed and get a few hours of sleep.

2 thoughts on “Most recent lesson

  1. Pingback: Amazing travel karma | a windycitygal's Weblog

Leave a Reply

