Almost there

Next month I’ll celebrate one year of living in California. Woo hoo!

One year without snow, ice, and face-freezing cold. One year without sticky, drippy humidity. One year without fireworks disturbing my peace nearly every summer weekend. One year not dealing with living in a state and city troubled with financial woes that lead to continued cuts in services, yet increases in taxes.

It’s definitely different here than it was in Chicago. Last night and today we’ve had the first real rain in 11 months. It was raining when I arrived on December 1 last year, and it rained a lot those first two weeks of my arrival. However, since then there has been negligible rain, as the drought continued into its fourth year. Today, though…today there have been downpours and hail, and as I currently write there is thunder and lightning, too. It’s a lovely change.

I’m going to try following my friend A‘s example and write every day of November. That means my posts may be shorter, but that’s probably better, anyway. Writing for long stretches just doesn’t fit my schedule very well. And, yes, I know that today is the second day of the month and I’ve already missed one day in writing in November, but I’m not shooting for perfection here.

2 thoughts on “Almost there

  1. Yeah, Chicago has those things, but you are missing an absolutely glorious Autumn. Two brutal winters in a row seem like a dream now, kinda like the Cubs getting into post-season play ;-D

    Like

  2. Pingback: Rounding out the weekend | a windycitygal's Weblog

Leave a Reply

