Here we go!

I’ve spent the past two weeks focusing on work and getting lots of rest at my friend’s house. Now it’s time to hit the road. I’ll be departing in just over an hour, shortly after my sister and driving companion arrives. (While I usually want to hit the road very early in the morning, we had to allow some time for her to get here first.)

Over the past week I’ve vacillated on which route to take: the northern route or the southern route? The northern route goes through Iowa, Nebraska, Wyoming, Utah, Nevada, and then into California through the Sierras. While there seems to be some decent weather along most of this route, there is a travel warning for the weekend along I-80 as it passes through the Sierras. The warning calls for up to 12 inches of snow and notes “be prepared for the weather.”

So while I was hopeful the past few days that we could take the shorter, more direct route on I-80, it just seems really unwise at this point. I’m hoping we can push through to Tulsa, OK tonight. Onwards!

One thought on “Here we go!

Leave a Reply

