Discipline

I made a promise to myself this week that I would make time to write on my blog on Sunday night. In fact, I’m trying to make time to write every Sunday night.

The fact is that I’ve been in a rut lately. I’m creatively stagnant. My work isn’t engaging me the way it has in the past, and I’m not quite sure what to do to re-engage myself. I’m wanting a change, but I’m not sure what that is, and I don’t feel like I have the ability to spend any time thinking about what that could be, either.

So I’m trying some “hacks” such as setting aside time every week to write. Writing is something I’ve always been driven to do, so why not use that as a kernel on which I can build and stimulate some ideas for what I can do next to get myself going again.

Really, I started writing a long time ago. I can’t even remember exactly when I started. I have some short stories and partial stories that I wrote back in grade school, and I recall giving one of my teachers in 5th grade (or was that 6th grade?) a story that I had written about a lion so she could edit it and make suggestions.

I also attempted to do something a bit more forceful to kick-start some creative thinking: I applied for a one-month work-study at Esalen that runs from mid-December to mid-January. My plan was to take a sabbatical from work and use the time to think as I performed the “work” portion of the work-study.

Note that I refer to my plan in the past tense since it has already gone awry. Esalen’s work-study program is apparently full at that time, so I can sit on the wait list until 2 weeks in advance, or I can just give up. I’m not sure which I should do, quite frankly, but at least I’ve made some sort of progress so far. Even if it isn’t in the direction I had planned.

3 thoughts on “Discipline

  1. Lots of twitters say the best way to get yourself writing is to just write. A bit circular I guess.

    Are you open to doing a work study with another organization? Check out VolunteerMatch.com for some ideas. 🙂

    Like

  2. When I was at a similar point I found Julia Cameron’s book, The Artist’s Way, hugely helpful. There’s a writing discipline and she has lots of tips and techniques for jump-starting in the way you’re talking about needing. Another possibility is to sign up for a coached, weekly writing workshop, one where you write and you bring in your material and share it with others. It’s a very trusting kind of environment. I studied with Nancy Beckett in this way for years and I think she would be perfect for you. And … she has a weekend writing workshop coming up in mid-November, over in Union Pier. I adore Nancy … maybe I’ll go! But enough about me; here’s her address:

    Like

  3. Linda,

    A few months ago, you posted a comment on at Get Rich Slowly reader’s story of paying for graduate school by renting out a spare bedroom. It was my story and a lot of people left varying comments. I was wondering if you could contact me at my e-mail address. Specifically, I would like to gain a female’s perspective on renting out a room from their house. Some of my readers would like some insight from this viewpoint and you being female would be the perfect person.

    Thanks
    Mike

    Like

Leave a Reply

