Spring awakening

It’s not technically spring yet, but we’re close! The day length is steadily increasing, the weather is slowly warming, and the sun has been out more often. Plus, what better metaphor to add to the first blog post I’ve written since Thanksgiving?

I didn’t intentionally take a winter hiatus; it just turned out that way. There are many, many reasons why I didn’t write for so long and I don’t want to take time to explain them all. I also can’t say that I’m ready to jump back into writing several times a week yet. This small start will have to suffice for now.

Winter was really getting me down, so last month I decided that I needed to get away to someplace warm. I’ve been diligently saving for a vacation and decided that I deserve a really big trip, so I did a little bit of research and then booked myself on the National Geographic Endeavour for a cruise through the Galapagos Islands. It turned out to be a fantastic experience. I took over 400 photos and have uploaded them to my Flickr account, but it will take me a bit more time to tag and edit them.

I’m not sure what else I want to say now. Lately I’ve been much more into reading blogs than writing one, and I’m less inclined to spill my guts out in such a public forum than I used to be. There are fewer reasons to get all angsty anyway: I’m happy with B, I’m getting into some more interesting projects and work, and my animals and I are all enjoying good health for now.

As we head into the quintessential season of renewal and growth, I’m going to enjoy all of these blessings and be content for a change.

Leave a Reply

