Home again

Here I am in Chicago. I’m still on California time, so even though I’m tired I’m not ready to slip into bed yet. The flights were blessedly uneventful and I think we actually arrived at O’Hare early. I found my coach seat fairly comfy this time, which gives me hope that I will be able to stand a longer flight in the future. Perhaps to Europe? We’ll see.

I do know I want to go back to Esalen again, preferably within the next 3-6 months. I was browsing the print catalog while on the plane from Monterey to LAX and saw that David Schiffman (our workshop leader) will be leading another workshop in late December. Tempting.

Returning to the house is comforting, but it needs a bit of tidying. Mark stayed here while I was gone and took care of the animals and such, but he’s not a housekeeper. I see dog hair dust bunnies all over that must be vacuumed up tomorrow. I’m actually keeping myself in check as I really want to do it tonight. Now. Instead I’m having a glass of wine to help wind me down and trying to ignore them.

It’s a cool, drizzly night here which is sort of refreshing. The past 2 days in Big Sur and Monterey were very warm and very dry. The humidity and moisture in the air is a nice change.

I really feel different. Freer, more confident in my personal power, and more comfortable in my skin and my space. I have tomorrow to completely unpack, do laundry, and continue my immersion into the reality of my life here in Chicago. There are so many possibilities I want to set in motion.

As I sit here on the couch with Hannah dog on one side of me and Sadie dog on the other I’m content. It’s a quiet night and I can hear Hannah gently snoring. This is good and pleasing to me, and the fact that I can recognize that and be content with it is an accomplishment for me. I’ve always tried to savor these simple pleasures. Being at Esalen has reinforced in me that this approach is healthy and necessary for me. I’m grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

