Here at last

I’ve made it to the California Central Coast. Today I arrived in Monterey via a flight through LA and tomorrow afternoon I continue on to Esalen along the Big Sur coast.

I love this area of California. The weather is pleasantly temperate and the town contains a strange assortment of consignment and thrift stores, used book and music shops, surfing outfitters, and “smoke shops.” I got here midday and have been wandering around Monterey and Pacific Grove soaking in the atmosphere.

There’s wildlife here.

Seal colony on Monterey Bay

Seal colony on Monterey Bay

And interesting vegetation.

Orange flowers

Orange flowers

Oh, and there’s also a kick-ass yarn store that I visited today, too. I carefully packed a pattern and yarn for one pair of socks and one scarf, but I”m whipping through the knitting so fast I got worried that I’d run out before I returned home. A quick bus ride to Monarch Knitting and Quilts helped me fill in the gap. Now I have yarn and needles to knit 2 more pairs of socks, just in case. (This isn’t my first visit to this store; seems I always find an excuse to drop by when I travel through this area.)

Tomorrow I have until late afternoon before I catch the transport to Esalen. Since I’ve already seen the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium on a previous visit, I’m not sure what I’m going to do. I’d love to take a kayaking tour of the Bay, but it may be bit much to try to fit that in before I leave. Maybe I’ll just kick back some more and continue getting into my “rest and rejuvenate” mood early.

I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to post while at Esalen. Connectivity is possible through public terminals, but I may just try to stay away from any and all computers. I mainly brought my laptop along so I could use it to journal and write offline. But we’ll see what I feel up for. This is a week about me, me, me. Sounds so decadent!

Leave a Reply

