Life happens

I’m in a much better mood today. Maybe it’s because I worked out yesterday. Or maybe it’s because I did a bit of tanning yesterday (thereby increasing my Vitamin D level). Or maybe it’s because I got some extra sleep.

Today, good stuff happened. I had lunch with a friend from work and had a really good conversation. I thought up some other options for my kitchen that just may reduce construction costs. I confirmed a dinner tomorrow night with an old high school friend. I saw my therapist and came up with an idea for how to deal with one of my personal angst issues, and got reassurrance that I really was a good wife to Mark and so I shouldn’t feel bad about what happened to our marriage.

Bad stuff happens, too. As I wrote all of this I just knocked over a glass of red wine onto an upholstered chair. Earlier this evening, the brass drain in one of double sinks in the kitchen caved in, making it impossible for me to plug the sink.

But this is life: a mix of good and bad. And the trick is to roll with it all and not get too overwhelmed with the bad or the good.

One of my friends gave me this poem by Mary Oliver a few days ago. I find myself carrying it around with me and tape it up next to the bed at night.

The Uses of Sorrow
(In my sleep I dreamed this poem)

Someone I loved once gave me
a box full of darkness.

It took me years to understand
that this, too, was a gift.

Leave a Reply

