The friend brigade

I am blessed to have so many wonderful friends. They are often quite different from each other, as they may have been met through the varied interests in my life. But all have been a big support to me during this difficult time in my life.

Last night, I spent time with Rachael visiting what will soon be her new apartment and having a delicious dinner at a raw food restaurant. (Cousin’s Incredible Vitality on Irving Park Rd. Fabulous food!!) Tonight, I met Betsy at The Matchbox for a couple drinks, some yummy friend calamari, and a discussion that covered a variety of personal stuff.

I’m certain Adrienne is somewhat relieved that I’ve spent two busy nights out, as I’ve called her nearly every night the past week to talk and cry a little about adjusting to evenings alone. The past 2 nights she’s gotten a much-needed break. Since she’s a good friend who has been through this before herself, I know she has given her time to me gladly, and frankly I’m certain to call her many more nights.

I think part of my general misery over the past week has been caused by my illness and a bit of “cabin fever” caused by staying at home every day for the past week. But the good news is that I’m on the mend. I’ll telecommute again tomorrow, and then I’ll be going into the office on Thursday for the first time in weeks.

And so I move onwards bit by bit into my new life, supported by friends and colleagues near and far, and with a new appreciation for taking life day by day, one thing at time. I am already feeling more balanced and getting back into the habit of walking around with my hands open, ready to receive what comes, and give up what I must.

Leave a Reply

