What a difference a week makes

A week ago, I was here.

Atlantis towers from across the bay

Atlantis towers from across the bay

What a difference a week makes, eh?

We’ve had a not bad week in Chicago. The weather was kind until today, with highs in the 60s and 50s. Today we’ve dipped down into the 40s and I’m finding myself struggling to feel warm.

It probably doesn’t help that I’ve got a virus that has kept me at home all week. I was planning to go to the office today, but one of my colleagues suggested that I keep my cough to myself and stay home again. So, I’ve been at home since I got back from the airport on Monday night.

Despite my minor complaints about the weather it *is* definitely spring. I know we’re dropping down below freezing tonight, but when I stepped out today to let out the chickens, it smelled like spring. It’s time for me to get cracking and work on the garden.

The dogs are having a bit of a tough time lately. I think all the changes in the household have been adding up and today they had a rousing fight. I first tried picking up Hannah’s hind-quarters (this usually works well for breaking up fights as it throws them off balance), but that didn’t even phase them. I ended up picking up Sadie completely and swinging her out of the way and onto the bed.

It’s Sadie that’s come out worse for wear here. She has a puncture wound on top of her head and must have a hell of a headache. She’s been moping around quite a bit, too. I’ll have to keep an eye on her and perhaps take her to the vet tomorrow if she still seems under the weather.

I’m slowly adjusting to living in this big ‘ol house alone. I’m actually really liking living just on the first floor, but I won’t be able to keep it up for long. Tomorrow I meet with the kitchen designer to get names of contractors to interview. I could be starting my kitchen remodel as early as next month, I guess, and since the work will take place literally up to the threshold of my current bedroom, I think it best for me to move down to the basement.

There’s a cook top down there, a sink, and a full bathroom. I hope the dogs can deal with yet another move. I hope I can deal with yet another move, too.

Leave a Reply

