Taste of spring

It was wonderfully, unseasonably warm today. A perfect day to be outside, although that wasn’t really possible for very long. I was in the office most of the day, but I did escape at midday to walk a few blocks and have lunch with a colleague. Tomorrow is supposed to be just as nice, so it will be very hard to keep myself focused on work while I’m telecommuting tomorrow.

I know this is just temporary. After all, we’ve just started March, which can be a very unpredictable month in Chicago. I’m sure we’ll see more snow and blustery cold, but at least I won’t be here for all of it! I’ll be going out of town next Wednesday to the (hopefully) warm and sunny Caribbean for a few days. This is my little gift to myself after putting up with so much crap for so long. So, even though I wish I could have gone out of town earlier, I will enjoy every minute of this small break.

One minor complication to my daily routine and plans for a holiday is…clothing.

If you’re old enough, you may recall the tagline of a shampoo commercial “Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful.” Well, don’t hate me, but…my problem is that I’ve lost so much weight that I have problems fitting into my clothes. Even within the past month, stuff I’ve bought at the thrift store and such as now too large. Unfortunately, I’m sort of between sizes now, too, so it’s hard to find things that fit well and aren’t either too big or too small.

My suits for work are useless to me now. All of them. Even the “smaller sized” ones. I will look into having them tailored down, but not until I’m done losing weight. I’m just now inside the normal range for BMI and would like to lose about 10 more pounds, which would put me squarely within the middle of the normal BMI index for my height.

At this point, I’m working out at the gym 3 days a week (1 day with the trainer, and 2 days on my own) which all involve cardio and strength training. And, I’m horse riding for 30 minutes a week, which is also quite a work out. Posting the trot is *definitely* a cardio workout, as I’ve documented by wearing my heart rate monitor during each session.

So, I’m getting smaller which is ultimately  good. And, I’ll get a chance to enjoy my smaller, lighter self in a bathing suit soon. Yay!

2 thoughts on “Taste of spring

Leave a Reply

