Giving thanks

I was thinking this morning of what I’m thankful for. After all, this is Thanksgiving day. So, although I’ve had what seems like a very challenging year so far, I still think I have many things to be thankful for.

  • My closest friends and family. Over the past two months especially, I would have had a much worse time getting through the days and nights without the love and support they provided me whenever I needed it.
  • Colleagues and friends in my community. This is a bit harder to express well, but it is greatly affirming to get words of support, thanks, and expressions of caring from the people I work with daily and the friends I’ve formed through community. My community extends beyond my neighborhood to those with whom I share common interests such as chicken keeping, gardening, and living more sustainably.
  • My job and workplace. Yes, I complain about it at times and have gone through periods of frustration like most people, but I am very happy to be working for a good company and to have a job in these crazy times.
  • My pets. My dogs and chickens give me a sense of grounding and help me maintain a routine so my life doesn’t seem too topsy-turvy.
  • My health. I’ve had health challenges this year, but I’m much better than I was and I have more good health to look forward to.

I’m spending today with my sister, niece, nephew, mother, and stepfather. We’ll eat the traditional foods: turkey, sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, etc. And we’ll probably have a few tussles during the day where someone will say something awkward or a bit mean to someone else. But that will be OK. We’ll be together, and that’s the thing that really matters.

Happy Thanksgiving Day to all!

Leave a Reply

