On the road

I know the posts have been few and far between these days, but the reasons are a bit complex and very personal. As I don’t typically use this blog to go into deeply personal matters, I’m not going to go into any of the gory details here. My close friends are aware of the challenges I’ve been facing recently, anyway (and no, it’s not health issues this time, thanks for asking).

But, here I am on the road to what I hope will be a respite where I can safely recharge and do some thinking. My friend Rachael invited me along to her parent’s vacation home in northern Michigan, and we are on the way. So far, we’ve made it through the awful Chicago rush hour traffic, the oppressive Skyway tolls, and are a mere 2 hours away from the haven we seek.

We’ve taken a brief stop and dipped our toes back into the “crazy life” so Rachael can respond to some emergency at work. While this has meant we had to find a place with WiFi during our travels, it hasn’t been much of a hardship for me. We’ve stopped in the quaint (nearly to the point of being nauseous) town of Frankenmuth, Michigan where we visited Zielinger’s Wool Mill and ended up in Tiffany’s to partake of some lunch and the free WiFi. And a beer or two for me. ‘Cause I’m not driving, and I deserve the the break.

So, coming up in the next post should be some of the photos I’ve taken today at the wool mill and more of the beauty of the north woods.

Stay tuned…

One thought on “On the road

  1. Follow my advice, other than an emergency phone call, don’t use the phone, don’t go online, don’t read the newspaper and don’t turn on a tv. Have yourself a wonderfully relaxing vacation and forget the world for 3 days. Come back to us relaxed, recharge and refreshed, I wish I were there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

