O Freunde

Happy Earth Day to all!

I was listening to music instead of podcasts this morning while taking the train into work. My iPod was in shuffle mode and throwing up a pretty interesting combination of tunes: Mad World (the slower version from Donnie Darko), Paradise by the Dashboard Light (Meatloaf), Slow Train to Dawn (The The), and Brand New Day (Sting). 

The culmination, though, as I was walking out of the station and into this warm, sunny day was the fourth movement (the choral) from Beethoven’s 9th Symphony.

I had the pleasure of enjoying this symphony live a few years ago at the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Sitting just a few seats away from the chorus and just slightly above the orchestra and main vocalists, it was an unforgettable experience that I will always treasure.

And what a way to start such a lovely day! I was tearing up as I rode the elevator up to my floor and listened to the words.

Seid umschlungen, Millionen!
Diesen Kuß der ganzen Welt!
Be embraced, you millions!
This kiss for the whole world!

 What a great way to start Earth Day.

One thought on “O Freunde

Leave a Reply

